The Practice of Creativity

Literary London, We’re Halfway through the Year! & Affirmations-366Days#183

Posted on: July 1, 2016

Affirmations-366Day#183: I am a conduit for the creative spark of the universe.
For new readers, here’s why I’m committing to writing affirmations, about the creative process, during the next 366 days.

 

Hi everyone!

On Monday, I arrived in London for an academic conference. I did slip away, however, on Wednesday to visit the Charles Dickens Museum and I’m so glad I did. I am a Dickens fan and after visiting his house, I have even more admiration for this writer.

dickenshouse

Dickens lived in this three story house from 1837-1839, just as he was coming into prominence.  It is here that he wrote The Pickwick Papers and Oliver Twist. The house has been decorated to look as it would in his day and the majority of the artifacts are from his life.

This is the desk that Dickens used to compose many masterpieces.

This is the desk that Dickens used to compose many masterpieces.

 

A few things that you may not know about Dickens, or the time period:

-Pests were a common problem in households, particularly kitchens, in Dickens’s day. Many households kept a hedgehog in the kitchen to eat pests. Dickens’s household kept one. Hedgehogs are very cute!

-Dickens was very fond of acting and had a stage career.

-During the ages of 12-14, Dickens spent time working in a factory while his father and family lived in a debtor’s prison (his father owed a minor debt of 40 pounds). This traumatic experience shaped his outlook about poverty, the class structure and laid the foundation for themes he explored as a journalist and novelist.

-Dickens was highly successful in his day. He was, however, very attuned to the fact that many talented writers and artists that he knew struggled to find their place. He often financially supported artists, organized benefit shows and also formed a charitable organization for artists.

-Dickens burned all of his letters between himself and his wife Catherine.

 

Now that my conference has concluded, I plan to visit as many writers’ houses and literary places of interest as I can.

 

Today is Day 183. We’re halfway through the year. Can you believe it? Now is a great time to take stock of the progress you are making toward your creative goals. One of my goals this year has been to write a daily original affirmation. I’m still on track and enjoying the challenge of it. I’ll have more on what I’ve learned from this commitment in a later post.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
