The Practice of Creativity

Another Way to Approach New Year’s Resolutions

Posted on: January 11, 2016

I just finished taking my Christmas tree down tonight and finally feel ready to even think about crafting New Year resolutions. What about you? People so often struggle with crafting resolutions that work. I’m always interested in how other people tackle this challenge. I came across a wonderful post about New Year’s resolutions through my friend and fellow writer Li Yun Alvarado. Her friend is leadership coach Gloria S. Chan. Chan wrote a great blog post about a new way to approach conceiving of and writing resolutions. I love how she emphasizes a visualization approach:

“I’m sick and tired of new year’s resolutions. Just kidding! But if you are, I don’t blame you. Who wants to keep making the same old promises, only to break them soon after they are made?

In fact, I love resolutions of all kinds, but it wasn’t this way until I truly understood how they work to create and sustain desired life changes. You see, there is an art to them, and they work only if you put in the effort to making real ones, ones that sing to your soul and speak to the essence of who you truly are. Here are a few tips to making your resolutions work for you.”

see the rest here.

 

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
