The Practice of Creativity

Start a Gratitude Jar for Your Big Beautiful Creative Life

Posted on: January 26, 2015

Last night I looked in my gratitude jar that I kept during 2014. I learned about gratitude jars from a friend in 2013. The idea is simple…get a big jar, write one thing you are grateful for at the end of the day and put it in the jar. The jar offers a visual touchstone of joy as you see it filling up with entries during the year.

Although I didn’t have anywhere close to 365 entries  (75 entries this year), I had a great time adding entries, during the year, when I remembered. And, I definitely loved reading about all the special moments that happened last year that I had forgotten. I noticed that the majority of the entries related to giving thanks for some aspect of my creative life going well. I was grateful that I had gotten a submission accepted, or someone had offered kind words on a reading I gave, or I had a day where good ideas seemed to flow endlessly.

gratitudejar

The powerful benefits that stem from a gratitude practice are ones that science now validates and that spiritual traditions have always claimed.

The jar is now empty and I will start all over again. This year, I am going to focus on being grateful for every teeny tiny thing that allows me to support my and others’ creativity.

What about you? Why not grab a jar and dedicate it specifically for your creative practice/life/ dream/goal? Or you can put something in the gratitude jar before you start work on your novel, book of essays, musical score, etc. List what you’re grateful for before you begin or end a project. There are many uses for a gratitude jar. There’s actually so much that goes right on our creative paths, if we just slow down and notice.

This is a practice that you will wind up loving! Promise!

4 Responses to "Start a Gratitude Jar for Your Big Beautiful Creative Life"

What a beautiful idea! Thank you so much for sharing this and spreading love and joy in the world. ❤️ I think I will try this!

Hi Yusra,
Thanks for stopping by. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed if you try this as a daily or even weekly practice. Chases away all the gloomies!

I love this idea!

Today I went for a walk in a $4 coat I bought at a thrift store in Colorado 9 years ago. It kept me warm and toasty despite the cold air and even has a hood if I want. Also plenty of pockets and both snaps and a zipper.

I’m crazy grateful for that coat and that I live in a place where I can walk in the woods and a country where you can buy second-hand stuff that wears like new for pennies on the dollar.

I’m also grateful for my inspirational friend, Michele!

Hi Michele! I nominated your blog for The Very Inspiring Blog Award today at http://www.theopenjar.com. Hope the sun is shining wherever you are today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
