The Practice of Creativity

National Poetry Month: Featured Writer-Ashley Memory

Posted on: April 16, 2013

I only met Ashley Memory last year, but it feels like we’ve known each other a long time. We’re colleagues at UNC-Chapel Hill and we’ve taken writing classes together. Late last fall, one of the members of my writing group had the good sense to invite Ashley to join us. I’m so glad she accepted as we’ve greatly benefited from her presence, her deep and complex understanding of literature and lovely wit. We also laugh a lot more than we did before! I’m happy to welcome Ashley to my ongoing celebration of National Poetry Month.

 

Ashley Memory

In the Name of Friendship

There once was a writer who preferred to write prose
The idea of poetry made her wrinkle her nose
She didn’t know if the toil would be worth the cost
Could she ever compare with Byron or Frost?

She hemmed and she hawed and procrastinated
(At work these tasks were quickly delegated!)
For the sake of friendship she cast her doubts aside
And put pen to paper and swallowed her pride

To her great amazement, the words flowed easily
And formed a little ditty that rhymed quite breezily
Would she do it again? Whoever can tell?
For now it would be a gift for Michele.

Author Reflection: Ashley Memory is clearly no poet but she had fun pretending to be one. The inspiration for this amateurish effort is one of her favorite belle-des-lettres, Michele Berger, who gently but firmly reminds us all to make time for creativity.

Ashley Memory is the author of Naked and Hungry, a darkly humorous suspense novel released in November 2011 by Ingalls Publishing Group.

Visit my blog

Become a fan on Facebook

Five Questions with the Author

Want more Ashley? Of course you do! See my interview with her where we discuss crime and crepes.

7 Responses to "National Poetry Month: Featured Writer-Ashley Memory"

Absolutely lovely!

I checked out her blog and I am so glad I did, I love finding new writers and poets who are so gifted and talented!

I love this poem! It’s always special to do one for a friend or a family member, it is so awesome to be able to express yourself in a way that allows you to convey emotions and feelings you just can’t explain or compose in any other way!

Hi Shane,
Nice to see you here! Yes, I think you will find Ashley a wonderful writer to study and enjoy. And, BTW, I still have space toward the end of the month if you’d like to submit a poem (60 lines or under) for my National Poetry Month Initiative. It can be funny, dark, metered or not. If you submit, I’ll need a two sentence bio and an optional 2 sentence reflection on the work or about poetry. Send to mtb@creativetickle.com

Cute! She’s got natural talent! Isn’t it fun how some people just brighten up a writer’s group? Good luck.

Hi Kiersi,
Yes it is! We were a lively group before and now we’re on fire!

Ashley surely has a way with words, whether rhyming or not. Thanks for adding sparkle to my day, both of you!

Love this, as someone who is not a fame of poetry but trying to embrace Michele’s attention to it this month!

[…] of Creativity. I am definitely no poet but she is a true friend, and in that spirit, she kindly published it. Rather brilliantly, she is celebrating this month by posting a series of poems by guest poets […]

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
