The Practice of Creativity

A Different Kind of Writers’ Conference

Posted on: August 6, 2012

The North Carolina Writers Conference is the best kept secret in the state. It should not be confused with the well-known North Carolina Writer’s Network Conference that is held every spring and fall. The NCWC is an invite and membership only, volunteer based organization that’s been around for over six decades started by writer Paul Green. It honors a significant NC writer every year; this year it’s Janet Lembke. And, the theme was ‘Skinny Dipping’ based on Lembke’s book of the same name—a meditation on nature.

My writing teacher invited me to go as she was this year’s organizer. I had no expectations and felt no pressure as I understood that the purpose of the gathering is to honor a well-known NC author and there are no agents and editors. She also told me that there were more academically themed panels than one might usually find at a writers’ conference. This week, I’ll be blogging about a few observations that I gained from going.

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
