The Practice of Creativity

Interview with Marjorie Hudson

Posted on: November 8, 2011

I’m so delighted that my interview with my writing teacher, Marjorie Hudson, has just been published in Western North Carolina Woman Magazine. Although I’ve conducted oral histories for my academic work, I’ve never had an opportunity to interview, transcribe and edit a conversation with a well-known writer. I highly recommend it to all aspiring writers! It’s a great way to get to know your local writer(s). It provides the writer an opportunity to get their work noticed and a publication credit for you. Local publications always need good quality interviews. After you’ve conducted the interview, you can then write a query to local publications.

I prepared for the interview by reading Marjorie’s work, brainstorming questions on my own and then reading lots of interviews with writers in publications and on websites. I began this process in June and now the interview is in print–a very satisfying feeling!

Marjorie Hudson is author of Accidental Birds of the Carolinas (short stories), a Novello Literary Finalist, and Searching for Virginia Dare, a North Carolina Arts Council Notable Book. Her work is published in many journals and anthologies.

Read the interview!

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
