The Practice of Creativity

Escape from Grudge Island

Posted on: September 18, 2009

A few weeks ago after seeing SARK, I decided to revisit one of my favorite concepts of hers—‘Grudge Island’. In her Bodacious Book of Succulence she talks about the place that many of us reside. You know the place in our consciousness where we replay, repeat, and sift through old hurts, grudges, resentments, and slights? She imagines this place as Grudge Island. All the folks on the island are stooped over from carrying the weight of their grudges.

In my workshops on creativity, I often ask people to verbalize what their Grudge Island looks like, the nature of the grudges and the length that they’ve hung on to them. After reflecting on this exercise, one woman exclaimed, “Goodness, I don’t just visit Grudge Island, I’ve built condos there!”

SARK: “The ego receives great satisfaction by keeping grudges. It allows you to be right and live in the past. … Grudges are companions of struggle and blame. Sometimes we feel it’s better to have their company than none at all, so we continue letting them live and grow.” p.87 (Bodacious Book of Succulence)

 
So, I decided to sit down and do a little exploring to see what shape my Grudge Island was in. I started out with a few modest pieces of paper and a pen. I thought, oh, this should only take a few minutes. As I got in touch with recent and old hurts and wounds, I found myself reaching for more paper. As I wrote, I began reliving and experiencing the anger, hurt and loss of the events that shaped my grudges. I reached for more paper and also some markers. I enjoyed using a big fat red marker, in particular, because it seemed to match the level of my intense feelings. When I started writing with my non-dominant hand (left), many childhood grudges surfaced.

 
Now, I pride myself on practicing the art of forgiveness, practicing yoga and meditating everyday. So, it came as a bit of unwelcome surprise that in fact, I was a long time resident on Grudge Island. I continued, however, to follow my feelings, and write every grudge, hurt and slight that came to my mind. My writing got bigger, more intense and even incoherent at times. By the end of the process I had filled 25 pages (front and back) of my grudges and ego wounds!
Here’s a sample:
Grudge against Thor (yes, his name was really that), a young man who told me while I was in grad school that pursing a PhD was meaningless and definitely not going to help my community (15 years ago)
Grudge against my mom who was too poor to send me care packages in college. I desperately wanted the validation and normalcy of a care package. Instead, I often sent care packages to her. (20 years ago)
Grudge against my six grade teacher who forgot to give me the information so that I could compete in the city wide spelling bee (I had won the spelling bee for the school and district). (30 years ago)
Grudge against a foundation for not choosing to fund my excellent proposal. (9 months ago)
You get the drift…

 

 
The utility of this exercise is that it allows one to see that we are more than what our egos declare that we should hold onto, pay attention to and enshrine in our memories. We are more than our grudges! I decided that these papers needed to be destroyed. In a mad frenzy, I ripped the papers into teeny tiny shreds which felt incredibly satisfying. I kept ripping and tearing at them for some time. Then, I began to knead them which for some reason also felt incredibly satisfying. I then promptly gathered them all up and dumped the pile in the garbage.

 
I remembered SARK said that when she purges grudges, she sometimes forgets the original hurts that caused the grudges. After I dumped the grudges, a very calm and peaceful sensation ran through my body. I felt a deep clarity about moving forward. And, I felt less like an ‘angry victim’ of circumstances. I made a plan of things that I wanted to do differently in relation to the people who were still in my life whom I had been holding grudges against. The other grudges of long ago felt gone, as if, they removed by a type of grace. Meaning, I could no longer remember the original incidents that led to my grudge holding. I’m sure that they are somewhere in my consciousness, but I think it would take a lot for me to remember them. I’m also OK if there is some pain associated with something that happened in the past that comes up occasionally. But, I’m not going to actively look for it.

 
I’ve taken the boat that occasionally visits Grudge Island for those who are ready to leave and begin exploring new vistas. I’m riding in a boat looking at the crystal blue water in the Channel of Present Possibilities.

 
If you spend way too much time on Grudge Island try writing the grudges down and afterwards purging them by either burning them, tearing them up (and dumping them) or even burying them in a garden.
The more we share about our very human capacity to hold grudges (and what we may get out of it for holding a grudge), the more support we can receive for releasing them and experiencing the joy and vitality that is available to us in every moment.

4 Responses to "Escape from Grudge Island"

Thanks for sharing your recent experience with this exercise. I agree that some of the oldest grudges seem to evaporate with the willingness to accept grace. I love that you kneaded the little bits of grudges–and made little bits and pieces of them mix and mingle and finally go to sleep in the recycling bin.

Whew! What a great exercise! And you articulated your experience so well that I even felt a sense of relief at the conclusion. 🙂 Thank you for sharing and thank you for reminding me that there is a process available to reveal and purge those hurts that get buried beneath years and years of day-to-day life experiences.

Wow! thanks for sharing! This piece is extremely helpful. While reading about your process of writing down & then dumping your grudges, I realize that there are somethings that my ego is holding on to (and is indeed finding comfort in holding onto). There is definitely reluctance (and fear) to take on such a process to dump my grudges….perhaps my ego does not want to end its reign in my life right now and if figting very hard (w/ fear) to keep the grudges alive. But living on Grudge Island is no paradise….more like living with a Parasite.
Peace

Hi!

Thanks for stopping by my blog. I really enjoyed reading this post–it definitely made me think. Positively.

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
