The Practice of Creativity

SARK and Getting off of Automatic Pilot

Posted on: August 22, 2009

This past week, I’ve been reminded just how easy it is for us to be on automatic pilot. You know what I’m talking about, right? Life as routine –I-don’t have to think about what I’m doing, because I’ve done it so many times before. A few days ago, I parked my car much closer to my office than usual. When I was ready to leave late in the day, it wasn’t until I arrived at my usual parking lot that I realized by car wasn’t there. I was so angry at myself. I walked six blocks out of the way.
Yesterday, I attended an ‘interactive book signing and lecture’ with one of my favorite authors-SARK who has written 15 books on creativity. I brought my book (Make Your Creative Dreams Real) of hers to sign. A friend gave it to me years ago as a gift. Well, I opened the back of the book and saw that there was a sticker on it that had my friend’s name on it (from SARK). As I handed SARK the book, I explained my friend had given me this book and there was already something from her in the back of the book. And, so she asked me, “Do you want me to sign your name or your friend’s name?” I replied that I wanted my name signed. She also asked me if I wanted it signed in the back or the front. I replied the front. So, she rifled through a few pages and found a spot. And, lo and behold–there was already an inscription from her in the book! I was so embarrassed and surprised. She just laughed and circled her original quote and wrote something else. To me, this was a prime example of being on automatic pilot–I hadn’t even checked the book out! It also makes me think of how we forget the wonderful gifts that are right under our noses–like the memory of my friend going to trouble of buying this book for me and getting it signed by SARK so many years ago.
So, I’m taking this as another lesson to–slow down and re-engage with my immediate surroundings. The basics–noticing taste, texture, touch, light, sounds, etc. How about you? Are you on automatic pilot? Can you slow down for even 5 minutes? Two minutes? 1 minute? What gift is right under your nose, if you just stop for a moment?

1 Response to "SARK and Getting off of Automatic Pilot"

O dear Michele, you are such an adorable button and I love what you wrote! Sending you every succulent moment.

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
