The Practice of Creativity

I am looking you, FEAR, straight in the eye

Posted on: May 26, 2014

As a coach, I have found that the number one thing that stops most people from pursuing their deepest and most meaningful heart’s desire is fear. Fear comes in a variety of forms, shapes and personas including ‘what will they think’, ‘I’m not good enough’, ‘I’ll never make money doing what I love’, ‘I need more credentials’, and ‘what if they don’t like what I create’, etc.

None of us are immune from feeling fear, especially when we’re moving outside out comfort zone. The danger is that fear with its tricky (and sometimes believable) tunes of gloom will get the best of us and immobilize us for far too long. I’ve had my own run-ins with fear over the years. What follows below is an impromptu ‘talking back’ that I recently gave to fear.

When you’re in the grip of a fear attack, it might be fun to write a poem/letter/manifesto to your fear and finish the lines ‘I’ve lived through….’

 

 

I am looking you, FEAR, straight in the eye
How dare you try to intimidate me!
Do you know what I’ve lived through?

I’ve lived through being a battered woman’s child
I’ve lived through being an abused young woman
I’ve lived through poverty
I’ve lived through being almost homeless
I’ve lived through discrimination
I’ve through academe
I’ve lived through the vagaries of a creative life

What else do you think you can do to ME?

How dare you sit there!

How dare you, FEAR!

How DARE you, FEAR!

So what if they laugh? I’m supposed to be worried if the unspecified THEY laugh?

What do you mean?

THEY have laughed before, so I imagine that they’ll laugh again

How dare you trying to make me afraid!

for asking for more
for wanting more
for trying more
for talking more
for being seen more
for saying I deserve more
for desiring more

How are dare you, FEAR!

Here’s what I want you to know, FEAR

Your days are numbered

I’m cleaning house in 2014

You better get in line

Or, I will strip you down into the dysfunctional four letter thing that you are

And EAT you!

 

4 Responses to "I am looking you, FEAR, straight in the eye"

I applaud you for writing that letter to your fear. Life has been difficult lately, so I should definitely give this a try! Thank you for such a wonderful, inspirational post, Michele!

Hi Chris, thanks for writing. I hope things are looking better this first week of June. I know my inner critics (mostly fear) have been yammering away recently.

I know exactly what you mean regarding fear. Funny how we can talk to it, swear to annihilate it; only for it to show up when we least expect it, to taunt us. It is something that requires diligence and a strong presence of mind. Great post! :-)

I also wrote fear and the absence of courage a letter. Here is the link if you would like to read it.

http://soistartedthisblog.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/day-14-to-whom-it-may-concern/

and response here:

http://soistartedthisblog.wordpress.com/2014/06/26/day-19-infinity-and-beyond/

Hi India,
Thanks for your comment and for stopping by! Yeah, it’s important to give fear a good talking to every once and awhile.

Leave a Reply

Michele Tracy Berger

Michele Tracy Berger

Author, Academic, Creativity Expert I'm an award winning writer.

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow The Practice of Creativity on WordPress.com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

